Omnivore’s GAME THEORY Reissue Initiative Continues With Expanded Edition Of ‘The Big Shot Chronicles’


Thirtieth anniversary expanded version of band’s revered third full-length LP contains 13 bonus tracks, nine previously unissued. Out September 23rd.

Omnivore Recordings continues the re-examination of Game Theory’s stellar 1980s catalog with an expanded reissue of The Big Shot Chronicles. Passionate fans of the group all have a favorite GT album, and the band’s drummer, Gil Ray, refers to The Big Shot Chronicles as his favorite in an revealing discussion with set co-producer and Game Theory constant/confidant Dan Vallor in the new set’s liner notes. The street date for the project is September 23, 2016.
The original 12-track album, produced by Mitch Easter (R.E.M., Let’s Active, Velvet Crush, Pavement), featured an expansion of the band’s sound, and contains the MTV 120 Minutes staple “Erica’s Word.”  For its 30th anniversary, 13 tracks have been added — nine of which are previously unissued. From demos, outtakes, rough mixes, and live tracks, one can see the sonic trajectory the band was on — leading up to their arguable magnum opus, Lolita Nation. In addition to alternate versions of originals, this set includes batch of covers of songs by Todd Rundgren, Roxy Music, Big Star, The Velvet Underground, and more.
The CD and digital versions contain 25 tracks, while the LP component (first pressing on lime-greenvinyl) has the original 12-track LP, with a download for the entire CD program. Packaging again contains a plethora of unseen images from long-time group photographer “Photo Robert” Toren.  Add in liner notes including the aforementioned Ray/Vallor discussion, an essay from Rolling Stone/Mojo/SPIN scribe Jason Cohen, and a remembrance from the Magnetic Field’s Stephin Merritt, and The Big Shot Chronicles 30th anniversary is everything it should be.
As annotator Cohen states in his liners, “The Big Shot Chronicles is now 30 years old. It still sounds like it could have come out today. And here it is tomorrow.”
Track listing:
1. Here It Is Tomorrow
2. Where You Going Northern
3. I’ve Tried Subtlety
4. Erica’s Word
5. Make Any Vows
6. Regenisraen
7. Crash Into June
8. Book Of Millionaires
9. The Only Lesson Learned
10. Too Closely
11. Never Mind
12. Like A Girl Jesus
Bonus Tracks:
13. Linus And Lucy
14. Couldn’t I Just Tell You
15. Seattle
16. Sweet Jane (Live)
17. The Only Lesson (2-Track Demo)
18. Make Any Vows (Live)
19. Erica’s Word (Rough Mix)
20. Jesus Christ (Solo Demo)
21. Like A Girl Jesus (Rough Mix)
22. Re-make/Re-model (Live)
23. If And When It Falls Apart (Rehearsal)
24. Friend Of The Family (Live)
25. Come Home With Me

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s