John Mayall’s Bluesbeakers ‘Live In 1967’ – Volume Two

In 1967, before there was a Fleetwood Mac, guitarist Peter Green, bassist John McVie and drummer Mick Fleetwood were John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers. The four musicians were only together for three months, which makes it even more remarkable that a staunch fan from Holland was able to sneak a one channel reel to reel tape recorder into five London clubs and capture this exciting glimpse into music history. For almost fifty years these tapes have remained unheard until John recently got them and began restoring them with the technical assistance of Eric Corne of Forty Below Records.

Live In 1967 is a rare find; the line-up of Green, McVie and Fleetwood was only together for three months, but the music they made was pure gold. Mayall and company have plenty of surprises on this recording. Some of the tracks here have a power not heard on the studio versions. Because the source recording was very rough, the final result is not hi-fidelity. The album does, however, allow us to hear how spectacular the truly remarkable performances. In particular, Peter Green is on fire here (especially on “So Many Roads”). This is easily the most essential document of this fine group and well worth the purchase from a fan of the band.

John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers– Live in 1967- Volume Two – Track Listing

 1     TEARS IN MY EYES                                                  7:31
Mayall/Warner/Chappell Music Ltd (PRS)

2     YOUR FUNERAL AND MY TRIAL                        5:32
Williamson/Arc Music (BMI)

3     SO MANY ROADS                                                      8:18                
Marshall/Arc Music (BMI)

4     BYE BYE BIRD                                                            5:02
Dixon-Williamson/Arc Music-Hoochie Coochie Music (BMI)

5     PLEASE DON’T TELL                                                4:08
Mayall/Carlin Music (PRS)

6     SWEET LITTLE ANGEL                                            6:10
King-Taub/Universal Music (BMI)

7     TALK TO YOUR DAUGHTER                                3:00
Lenoir-Atkins/BMG Platinum Songs obo Arc Music (BMI)

8     BAD BOY                                                                        5:08
Taylor/Conrad Music (BMI)

9     STORMY MONDAY                                                    8:21
Walker/Gregmark Music-Lord & Walker (BMI)

10   GREENY                                                                        6:36
Green/Unichappell Music (BMI)

11    RIDIN’ ON THE L&N                                               2:22
Hampton-Burley/Trio Music (BMI)

12    CHICAGO LINE                                                       4:34
Mayall/ Carlin Music (PRS)

13   DOUBLE TROUBLE                                                  6:35
Rush/Conrad Music (BMI)

To preview or purchase this album on iTunes, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s