Volumes 3 & 4 Of Art Pepper’s Legendary “West Coast Sessions!”, Featuring Jazz Giants Lee Konitz And Bill Watrous, Coming In Expanded Reissues From Omnivore On June 3Oth

Late ’70s/early ’80s series of Japanese-only releases, produced by Pepper, to be available in U.S. for the first time. Each features two bonus tracks, plus liner notes from Laurie Pepper

Laurie Pepper, widow of legendary jazz alto saxophonist Art Pepper, explains the West Coast Sessions! concept best in her liner notes for a pair of expanded reissues coming on June 30, 2017 from Omnivore Recordings. The rollout will include Art Pepper Presents “West Coast Sessions!” Volume 3: Lee Konitz and Art Pepper Presents “West Coast Sessions!” Volume 4: Bill Watrous.
“In 1977,” she wrote, “Art came back from the dead. Or so it seemed to those who followed him, followed his music. And then in 1979, the Japanese came calling in the guise of a small record label, Yupiteru, later Atlas. They wanted Art to record for them. By then, Art was under exclusive contract to Fantasy/Galaxy records and couldn’t record as a leader. However, and I think I deserve credit for this sneaky idea, he could be a ‘sideman.’ And he could choose the ‘leaders.’ He did six albums for Atlas with six terrific ‘leaders.’ And they are classics, now.”

Originally issued in 1982 as High Jingo, featuring Lee Konitz and His West Coast Friends, the material on Volume 3 was recorded in February of that year at Sage & Sound Studio in Los Angeles with Konitz on alto sax, Art Pepper also on alto sax (and clarinet!), bassist Bob Magnusson, Michael Lang on piano, and drummer John Dentz.

With an original title of Funk’n Fun, featuring the Bill Watrous Quintet, the material in Volume 4 was recorded in March of 1979 at Sage & Sound Studio in Los Angeles with Watrous on trombone, Art Pepper on alto sax, bassist Bob Magnusson, Russ Freeman on piano, and drummer Carl Burnett.

Both volumes were originally released only on LP in Japan.
Volume 3 Track Listing
1. S’wonderful
2. Whims Of Chambers
3. A Minor Blues In F
4. High Jingo
5. The Shadow Of Your Smile
6. Anniversary Song
7. Cherokee
Bonus Tracks:
8. S’wonderful (Alternate Take)
9. Whims Of Chambers (Alternate Take)

Volume 4 Track Listing
1. Just Friends
2. Begin The Beguine
3. When Your Lover Is Gone
4. For Art’s Sake
5. Funny Blues
6. Angel Eyes
7. P. Town
Bonus Tracks:
8. Funny Blues (Alternate Take)
9. Angel Eyes (Alternate Take)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s