New Prince Album — ‘Piano & A Microphone 1983’

Prince — Piano & A Microphone 1983

Great news: the nearly unnaturally gifted songwriter, producer, guitarist, bassist, drummer, arranger and performer often called Prince has left us some hidden treasure. It’s the sound of a genius exploring. He may have just been playing around one midnight 35 years ago… but he’s Prince. Listen to the virtuoso musical ballet he improvs and you’ll hear what I mean.

Piano & A Microphone 1983 is a nine track, 35-minute album featuring a previously unreleased home studio cassette recording of Prince solo at his piano captured in 1983. The album is available now on CD, LP, Deluxe CD+LP. The album provides a rare, intimate glimpse into Prince’s creative process as he worked through songs like “Purple Rain” and “17 Days”, a cover of Joni Mitchell’s “A Case Of You”, “Strange Relationship” (not released until 1987 on his critically acclaimed Sign O’ The Times album), and “International Lover,” and the spiritual “Mary Don’t You Weep.”  For fans of Prince’s spontaneous live medleys, tracks 1-7 of the album are presented in that same format as they were originally recorded.

The Deluxe CD+LP format includes a 12″ booklet featuring brand new liner notes written by Prince’s then engineer Don Batts, Revolution member Lisa Coleman and Paisley Park artist Jill Jones, as well as candid shots of Prince including never-before-seen photos and original hand-written lyrics.

The album cover photo captures a rare view of Prince backstage during the 1999 tour. The photo was taken by Prince’s trusted photographer and creative collaborator Allen Beaulieu who worked closely with Prince between 1979-1984. Allen’s work with Prince includes the cover shots for the Dirty Mind and Controversyalbums and iconic promotional photos for the 1999 album.

Track list and credits:

1.     17 Days
2.     Purple Rain
3.     A Case Of You
4.     Mary Don’t You Weep
5.     Strange Relationship
6.     International Lover
7.     Wednesday
8.     Cold Coffee & Cocaine
9.     Why The Butterflies

Recorded in 1983 at Prince’s Kiowa Trail home studio in Chanhassen, MN, Engineered by Don Batts

To preview or purchase this album on iTunes, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s