Yet Another Brilliant Album From Mason Summit — ‘Gunpowder Tracks’

Mason Summit — Gunpowder Tracks

(Release Date: September 16, 2016)

The future looks bright for Mason Summit. At the early stages of his career, the 19-year-old singer/songwriter seems to be starting out with a maturity that most artists don’t reach until their final comeback. He shows an understanding of the power of simplicity—the kind of simplicity that results in the profound. There is a streamlined quality to his work, a penchant for carving away anything unessential, that leaves only the truth.

The present ain’t so bad, either. His new album (his third), Gunpowder Tracks, proves that he is one of the most exciting songwriters out there. Of course, we knew that long ago. Here’s a quote from his previous album…

On the album, Mason Summit (lead vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, electric sitar, Mellotron, synthesizer, electric piano) is supported brilliantly by Shawn Nourse (drums, percussion), Jeff Turmes (electric and upright bass, clarinet), Carl Byron (keys, harmonium and accordion), John McDuffie (guitars), Lynn Coulter (congas and tambourine), Matt Fish (cello), Chad Watson (trombone) and Neil Rosengarden (trumpet).

Mason Summit picks up where brave. experimental rock artists of decades ago left off. This isn’t to say that his music is old-fashioned. On the contrary, his ability to evoke classic acts like The Beach Boys and The Beatles, as well as more contemporary acts like Wilco, is testimony to Summit’s willingness to go where few artists dare. All I can hope is that Summit’s musical sophistication is just as inspiring to yong artists in the future. In the meantime, he is keeping the best impulses of pop/rock/jazz music alive and well.

There is great attention to detail on this album; the production (as is always the case with Summit) is impressive. Everything is spot-on: the guitar tones, the drum sounds, the keyboard settings, and the way they all fit together to give each song its own world. Each track is its own event, and they set each other off beautifully.

Essential Downloads: “When Time Was Mine To Spend,” “Hitting All The Reds,” “Snakeskin Shoes, Crocodile Tears,” “Good Thing Going,” “Last Time.”

To preview or purchase this album on iTunes, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s